Dorothy E. Werner Database Collection on Library Computers

Section Index

Content Body

ALLDATA Online
A comprehensive electronic resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information including access to Technical Service Bulletins and Wiring Diagrams.

AltHealth Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. Provided by BadgerLink.

American Physical Society journals
Many professional journals from the American Physical Society are available for in-library use through this link. The journals of the APS embody the mission of the society "to advance and diffuse the knowledge of Physics."

Ancestry Plus
With over 1.2 billion records in over 3,000 databases, AncestryPlus is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available. Included in AncestryPlus are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, Passenger and Immigration Lists Index,and much more.

Antiques Reference p4a
A very good tool for researching the market value of antiques. The information is drawn from about 50 leading regional auction houses. Includes photos and often has specific information about a particular sale.

Auto Repair Reference Center Provided by BadgerLink.

BadgerLink is a statewide service to libraries and schools offering full-text access to a variety of resources including thousands of back-issue magazine and newspaper articles in full text. Also included are pamphlets, biographies, primary historical documents, an image file and other materials for all age groups.

BadgerLink Litfinder offers online access to a wide selection of poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches. Browse or search by keyword.

BusinessDecision is a subscription database, reporting, and mapping service that combines extensive consumer household, market segmentation, and demographic data with GIS mapping technology. Use "express login" after you  CLICK HERE

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost. Provided by BadgerLink.

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. In addition, Consumer Health Complete includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis. Provided by BadgerLink.

Credo Reference
Through this database, you may gain access to any of more than 3 million entries, from 380 titles and 62 publishers. Just enter a search term and get reliable information from reference sources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online.


HeritageQuest Online
This popular program offers wealth of genealogical information including a census search (complete set of Federal census images from 1790-1930, include name indexes for many years), books (20,000 family and local histories), the PERSI index (over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles) and much more.

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. Provided by BadgerLink.

Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals. Provided by BadgerLink.

Kids Search. Provided by BadgerLink.

Learning Express Library
Interactive online practice tests and tutorials for many exams, including: ACT, ASVAB, GED, GRE, Law Enforcement, LSAT, Postal workers, SAT, US Citizenship. You get immediate scoring, answer explanation, and analysis of your results.

Literary Reference Center

This database includes information and research about authors and their works. It also includes a literary-historical timelines, encyclopedia of literature, dictionary, citation help and research guide.

Mango Languages
Learn languages through real native conversations. Mango is designed to equip you with conversational abilities from the very start. Whether you're learning how to order a pizza or ask when the game starts, Mango immerses you in real, everyday conversations in 12 different language courses.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Real-time investment research including many popular  features of Morningstar.com®, including research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds. 

NetLibrary
Access to e-books (electronic books) via the World Wide Web. Read these books online.

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 710 full-text newspapers, providing more than 31 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 684,000 television and radio news transcripts. Provided by BadgerLink.

NoveList is your complete guide to fiction. Can't decide what to read next? Give it a try! Provided by BadgerLink.

NoveList:

Novelist K-8:

Overdrive

Digital audiobooks and e-books are available to Mead Library customers through Eastern Shores Library System and the Wisconsin Public Library Consortium. To download audiobooks, you must have the free software available from Overdrive. To see a list of audiobooks available for download by Mead Library customers, go to the Mead catalog, and do a general keyword search using the term "overdrive." Or, go to the WPLC digital book website and click on "View all audio Books" and "View all video" to see the titles.

Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Provided by BadgerLink.

Professional Development Collection  is designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. Provided by BadgerLink.

Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications.Provided by BadgerLink.

Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by BadgerLink.

Searchasaurus. Kids, do a search or select a topic, then learn a lot! Provided by BadgerLink.

Selectory from Dun and Bradstreet. Selectory business database helps you find new customers and build targeted lists of sales leads with unlimited online access to the most accurate, up-to-date company profiles with contact information. Look up company information, research markets, find hidden sales opportunities and much more!

Student Research Center

TeachingBooks. Share the spirit of books and reading by bringing authors into your classroom. Provided by BadgerLink.

TumbleBooks is the place to go to hear stories, play games, and more. E-books for e-kids!

Value Line Research Center
For more than seventy-five years Value Line has been synonymous with trust, reliability, objectivity, independence, accurate information and proven performance for investors.

WISCAT is a statewide union catalog of library holdings containing over 7 million titles and more than 33 million holdings from over 1,200 contributing Wisconsin libraries, including Mead Public Library. The catalog contains material in all formats, including books, serials, videorecordings, sound recordings and other audiovisual formats.

WorldCat.org is a new product that includes a search box which allows Web users to search the entire database of library materials by keywords. You may then put in geographic information and find out which nearby libraries own the item and link to the library catalog record.

Website by YourLibrarySite